How to do vibrato on guitar

In this week’s lesson, I want to look at vibrato. If you’ve got a great one, everything you do will sound professional. Without a good vibrato, you’re a rubbish lead guitarist. Fact.

I’ve never really seen vibrato taught well, so I’ve developed a system to help my students with it. Most of the time you’re just told “it’s a feel thing” and left to wobble the string in the hope it sounds good. That normally ends up with an uncontrolled, out of tune mess. It’s better to think of vibrato as a series of bends. If you can bend a string in tune, you can do a good vibrato. In this video (and part 2, coming next week), I’ll show you some of my system for building up your vibrato.

Don’t forget to visit my website at http://www.bathguitarlessons.co.uk

Cheers dudes!

About bathguitarlessons

I rock. When I am not rocking, I instruct others in the ways of rock. I am a guitar teacher in Bath. I write for Total Guitar, I do sessions, and I play in my band. Life is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment